Commercialbank Qatar Masters

Major Champions Kaymer, Els, Lawrie back for Commercial Bank Qatar Masters

Martin Kaymer will compete at Doha Golf Club for the first time since 2014, while Ernie Els, Thomas Bjørn and Paul Lawrie – all former winners of the Mother of Pearl Trophy – will extend their run of appearances at the European Tour event.

Two-time Major champion Martin Kaymer will compete at the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters for the first time since 2014 when the long-standing European Tour event celebrates its 20th edition from January 26-29.


Four-time Major winner Ernie Els, former Open Champion Paul Lawrie and Thomas Bjørn, recently appointed Europe’s Captain for The 2018 Ryder Cup, will also compete at Doha Golf Club, where all three have lifted the Mother of Pearl Trophy.


Kaymer, 32, made seven straight appearances in Qatar from 2008 and enjoyed his best finishes in 2012 and 2013, tying for ninth in successive years.


The former World Number One, who won the US PGA Championship in 2010 and the US Open in 2014, will be a star attraction in Doha as he seeks to add to his 11 European Tour titles.


“I’m excited about returning to the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters as it was a regular part of my schedule for many years and it’s a great tournament,” said Kaymer.


“I like the layout, it’s nice weather in Doha at that time of year and it has produced many great winners. Hopefully I have the chance to join that list.”


Els won on his tournament debut in 2005 and will be playing the event for a ninth time – and fifth in succession. Bjørn competed in the tournament’s first edition in 1998 and has played 12 times, winning in 2011.


Lawrie, who won in 1999 and 2012, also competed in the inaugural tournament and will make his 18th appearance this month, having only missed the event in 2000 and 2003. The Scot is one of three two-time winners of the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters along with Adam Scott (2002, 2008) and Branden Grace (2015, 2016).


The field also includes 2013 champion Chris Wood, his 2016 Ryder Cup teammates Rafa Cabrera-Bello and Andy Sullivan, and in-form World Number Nine Alex Noren, who won four European Tour titles last year..


Other former champions in the field include Robert Karlsson (2010), Alvaro Quiros (2009) and Darren Fichardt (2003).