Commercialbank Qatar Masters

The History of Commercial Bank Qatar Masters

Since 1998 the prestigious Qatar Masters golf tournament has been hosted by Doha Golf Club. The annual tournament, now in its 18th year, is sponsored by Commercial Bank of Qatar and is held at the beginning of each year as part of The European Tour. Many of the world's top golfers compete on Doha Golf Club's unique and challenging desert-type Championship Course, which has proven to be one of the longest par 72 courses on the tour.


Designed by Peter Harradine and unveiled in 1997, the 7,374-yard Championship Course features eight strategically positioned lakes, 65 giant cacti, numerous imposing limestone rock formations and an abundance of lush and lengthy green fairways, presenting a startling contrast to the desert that lies beyond.

Read the interviews with Commercial Bank Qatar Masters Tournament Director, Chris Myers what a unique and prestigious course it is and where the best spots to watch the tournament.


Commercial Bank Qatar Masters past champions:

Details on how they won can be found here on the history page.

2014 – Sergio Garcia

2013 – Chris Wood

2012 – Paul Lawrie

2011 – Thomas Bjørn

2010 – Robert Karlsson

2009 – Alvaro Quiros

2008 – Adam Scott

2007 – Retief Goosen

2006 – Henrik Stenson

2005 – Ernie Els

2004 – Joakim Haeggmann

2003 – Darren Fichardt

2002 – Adam Scott

2001 – Tony Johnstone

2000 – Rolf Muntz

1999 – Paul Lawrie

1998 – Andrew Coltart

Some description

Some description